Standards committee

The role of the standards committee

The council has a standards committee made up of five elected members (councillors), and three co-opted independent members. They provide a forum to examine and advise on councillor conduct and the ethics that govern an individual whilst carrying out their role of councillor. The three co-opted individual members are:

  • Andrew Reed
  • Lynda Bourne
  • Kate Lewis

The 3 co-opted individual members are consulted for any standards issues and for any complaints against an elected councillor.

The independent person who was appointed to work with the standards committee, as required by the Localism Act 2011, is Eddie Burridge.

New complaints procedure: making a complaint against a councillor

The council has adopted procedures for dealing with complaints against elected members.  The procedures and a complaints form are available to download. The standards committee meets on a quarterly basis, the dates for the meetings can be found on the council's calendar of meetings. In addition, meetings are held to deal with any complaints received

Contact details


01202 633013

Democratic Services
Borough of Poole
Civic Centre
BH15 2RU 

Page last updated: 31 July 2019
Help us improve
This is just for feedback on our website, not comments or questions about our services. Feedback on services will not be passed on. To tell us anything else, contact us.

Please don't include any personal or financial information.