The Cabinet proposes the annual budgets and Council Tax level, as well as policies for providing services. Council debates and approves these proposals. The Leader of the Cabinet also highlights priorities for action and works with the Cabinet to make day to day decisions in line with the strategies, policies and budgets approved by council.

Council appoints the Leader of the Council and the Leader appoints Members to the Cabinet and determines the Portfolios. Cabinet meets monthly and makes the decisions. This speeds up the decision making process and makes it more open and accountable to local people.

Current cabinet members

Janet Walton: Leader of the Council

May Haines: Deputy Leader of the Council, Finance and Corporate Services

Mohan Iyengar: Economy, Industrial Strategy and Community Engagement

John Challinor: Strategic Commercialisation and Estates, Communications and Leisure

Ian Potter: Planning, Regeneration and Transportation

John Rampton: Environment and Open Spaces

Karen Rampton: Health and Social Care and Housing

Mike White: Children and Young People Services and Capital Projects

Cabinet forward plan 

The cabinet forward plan aims to include future items for consideration and decision by cabinet or recommendation to council for decision.

It is updated frequently and informs the work of the council's Overview and Scrutiny Committees. An extract is considered at each monthly meeting of the cabinet.

The forward plans of these Overview and Scrutiny Committees can be viewed at:

Contact details


01202 633013

Democratic Services
Borough of Poole
Civic Centre
BH15 2RU 

Page last updated: 31 July 2019
Help us improve
This is just for feedback on our website, not comments or questions about our services. Feedback on services will not be passed on. To tell us anything else, contact us.

Please don't include any personal or financial information.